[PDHRE logo]
People's Decade of Human Rights Education
PDHRE Home

Hot Topics

Human Rights and Globalization

Sign on! Declaration of Human Rights from a gender perspective

Women's Passport to Dignity - a call to participate!

Human Rights Conventions: Summaries

About PDHRE

Current Projects

Sharing Methodology & Learning Materials

Dialogue & Discourse

Get Involved!


Related Links


LA CONVENTION INTERNATIONALE SUR L'ELIMINATION DE TOUTES LES FORMES DE DISCRIMINATION RACIALE

 
Introduction | Résumé  | Text integrale

« L'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies a adopté officiellement, en 1963, la Déclaration sur l'élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination raciale.

La déclaration insiste sur quatre points principaux, à savoir que :
 

- Toutes les doctrines de différentiation raciale ou de supériorité raciale sont scientifiquement fausses, moralement condamnable, socialement injuste et dangereuse et n’ont aucune justification tant théorique que pratique.

- Toutes les formes de discrimination raciale, et surtout les politiques gouvernementales fondées sur le préjugé de supériorité raciale ou sur la haine raciale, outre qu'elles constituent une violation des droits fondamentaux de l'homme, sont de nature à compromettre les relations amicales entre les peuples, la coopération entre les nations et la paix et la sécurité internationales ;

- La discrimination raciale nuit non seulement à ceux qui en sont l'objet, mais encore à ceux qui la pratiquent ;
 

- L'édification d'une société universelle affranchie de toutes les formes de ségrégation et de discrimination raciale, facteurs de haine et de division entre les hommes, s'inscrit parmi les objectifs fondamentaux des Nations Unies.

Aux termes de la Convention, les Etats parties se sont engagés à :
 
Ne se livrer à aucun acte ou pratique de discrimination raciale contre des personnes, groupes de personnes ou institutions et faire en sorte que toutes les autorités publiques et institutions publiques se conforment à cette obligation ;

Ne pas encourager, défendre ou appuyer la discrimination raciale pratiquée par une personne ou une organisation quelconque ;
 
Revoir les politiques gouvernementales nationales et locales et modifier ou abroger toute loi et toute disposition réglementaire ayant pour effet de créer la discrimination raciale ou de la perpétuer ;
 
Interdire la discrimination raciale pratiquée par des personnes, des groupes ou des organisations et y mettre fin ;
 
Favoriser les organisations et mouvements intégrationnistes multiraciaux et autres moyens propres à éliminer les barrières entre les races, et décourager ce qui tend à renforcer la division raciale.
 

--Extrait du « Comité pour l'élimination de la discrimination raciale

Fiche d’information # 12, Centre des droits de l’homme des Nations Unies

Introduction | Résumé  | Text integrale

CERD
Résumé non officiel


Article 1 :

La définition de discrimination raciale : toute distinction, exclusion, restriction ou préférence fondée sur la race, la couleur, l'ascendance ou l'origine nationale ou ethnique, qui a pour but ou pour effet de détruire ou de compromettre la jouissance dans des conditions d'égalité, des droits de l'homme. Les mesures spéciales ne sont pas considérées comme des mesures de discrimination raciale.

Article 2 :

Les Etats parties condamnent la discrimination raciale et s'engagent à éliminer toute forme de discrimination raciale. Chaque Etat partie s'engage à ne se livrer à aucun acte de discrimination raciale et à faire en sorte que toutes les autorités publiques se conforment à cette obligation. Chaque Etat partie s'engage à ne pas encourager, défendre ou appuyer la discrimination raciale pratiquée par une personne ou une organisation quelconque. Chaque Etat partie doit revoir les politiques gouvernementales nationales et locales et pour modifier, abroger ou annuler toute loi et toute disposition réglementaire ayant pour effet de créer la discrimination raciale. Chaque Etat partie doit interdire la discrimination raciale pratiquée par des personnes, des groupes ou des organisations et y mettre fin. Les Etats parties prendront, si les circonstance l’exigent, des mesures spéciales et concrètes pour assurer comme il convient le développement ou la protection de certains groupes raciaux ou d'individus appartenant à ces groupes en vue de leur garantir, dans des conditions d'égalité, le plein exercice des droits de l'homme.

Article 3 :

Les Etats parties condamnent spécialement la ségrégation raciale et l'apartheid et s'engagent à prévenir, à interdire et à éliminer sur leurs territoires toutes les pratiques de cette nature.

Article 4 :

Les Etats parties condamnent toute propagande et toutes organisations qui s'inspirent d'idées ou de théories fondées sur la supériorité d'une race. Les Etats parties s'engagent à adopter immédiatement des mesures positives destinées à éliminer toute incitation à une telle discrimination, et doivent interdire toute diffusion d'idées fondées sur la supériorité raciale, toute incitation à la discrimination raciale, ainsi que tous actes de violence dirigés contre toute race.

Article 5 :

Les Etats parties s'engagent à interdire et à éliminer la discrimination raciale sous toute ses formes et à garantir le droit de chacun à l'égalité devant la loi sans distinction notamment dans la jouissance droit à un traitement égal devant les tribunaux ; droit à la sûreté de la personne ; droits politiques, notamment droit de voter et d'être candidat, droit de prendre part au gouvernement ainsi qu'à la direction des affaires publiques et droit d'accéder, dans des conditions d'égalité, aux fonctions publiques ; droit de circuler librement et de choisir sa résidence à l'intérieur d'un Etat; droit de quitter tout pays, y compris le sien, et de revenir dans son pays; droit à une nationalité; droit de se marier et de choisir son conjoint; droit de propriété; droit d'hériter; droit à la liberté de pensée, de conscience et de religion; droit à la liberté d'opinion et d'expression; droit à la liberté de réunion et d'association pacifiques; droits économiques, sociaux et culturels, notamment : droits au travail, au libre choix de son travail, à un salaire égal pour un travail égal, à une rémunération équitable et satisfaisante; droit de fonder des syndicats et de s'affilier à des syndicats; droit au logement; droit à la santé, aux soins médicaux, à la sécurité sociale et aux services sociaux; droit à l'éducation et à la formation professionnelle; droit de prendre part, dans des conditions d'égalité, aux activités culturelles; droit d'accès à tous lieux et services destinés à l'usage du public.

Article 6 :

Les Etats parties assureront à toute personne soumise à leur juridiction une protection et une voie de recours effectives contre tous actes de discrimination raciale.

Article 7 :

Les Etats parties s'engagent à prendre des mesures dans les domaines de l'enseignement, de l'éducation, etc. pour lutter contre les préjugés conduisant à la discrimination raciale.


For more information, please contact PDHRE:

The People's Movement for Human Rights Education (PDHRE) / NY Office
Shulamith Koenig / Executive Director
526 West 111th Street, New York, NY 10025, USA
tel: +1 212.749-3156; fax: +1 212.666-6325
e-mail: pdhre@igc.org

[PDHRE logo]
People's Decade of Human Rights Education
PDHRE Home

Hot Topics

Human Rights and Globalization

Sign on! Declaration of Human Rights from a gender perspective

Women's Passport to Dignity - a call to participate!

Human Rights Conventions: Summaries

About PDHRE

Current Projects

Sharing Methodology & Learning Materials

Dialogue & Discourse

Get Involved!


Center for Human Rights Education-USA

Related Links

Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (CERD)

 
Introduction | Article Summaries | Full Text

Excerpts from The Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination, Fact Sheet #12, UN Centre for Human Rights:

The International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (CERD) is a legal instrument building upon the 1963 Declaration on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination.

The Declaration makes four principal points:

  • Any doctrine of racial differentiation or superiority is scientifically false, morally condemnable, socially unjust and dangerous and has no justification in theory or practice;
  • Racial discrimination -- and more so, government policies based on racial superiority or hatred -- violate fundamental human rights, endanger friendly relations among peoples, co-operation among nations, and international peace and security;
  • Racial discrimination harms not only those who are its objects but also those who practise it;
  • A world society free of racial segregation and discrimination, factors which create hatred and division, is a fundamental aim of the United Nations.
Under the Convention, States parties are pledged:
  • To engage in no act or practice of racial discrimination against individuals, groups of persons or institutions, and to ensure that public authorities and institutions do likewise;
  • Not to sponsor, defend or support racial discrimination by persons or organizations;
  • To review government, national and local policies and to amend or repeal laws and regulations which create or perpetuate racial discrimination;
  • To prohibit and put a stop to racial discrimination by persons, groups and organizations; and
  • To encourage integrationist or multiracial organizations and movements and other means of eliminating barriers between races, as well as to discourage anything which tends to strengthen racial division."

Introduction | Article Summaries | Full Text

CERD
Unofficial Summary


Article 1

Definition of racial discrimination: any distinction, exclusion, restriction, or preference based on race, colour, descent or national or ethnic origin with the purpose or effect of impairing the enjoyment on equal footing of human rights. Affirmative action policies or measures are not to be deemed racial discrimination.

Article 2

States Parties condemn racial discrimination and undertake to pursue a policy of eliminating it in all its forms. States Parties shall engage in no act of racial discrimination and shall act to ensure that no public authorities and institutions engage in discrimination. States Parties pledge not to sponsor, defend or support racial discrimination by any persons or organizations. States Parties shall review government, national and local policies and amend or repeal laws and regulations which create or perpetuate racial discrimination. States Parties shall prohibit and bring to an end racial discrimination by any persons, group or organization. States Parties shall take affirmative action measures as needed to ensure the development and protection of individuals belonging to certain racial groups for the purpose of guaranteeing them the full and equal enjoyment of human rights.

Article 3

States Parties condemn apartheid and undertake to prevent, prohibit and eradicate all such practices in their territories.

Article 4

States Parties condemn all propaganda and all organizations based on ideas of racial superiority. States Parties undertake to act to eradicate all incitement to discrimination and shall prohibit dissemination of ideas based on racial superiority and acts of violence or incitement to violence against any race.

Article 5

States Parties undertake to prohibit and to eliminate racial discrimination and to guarantee to everyone without distinction equality before the law, especially in the enjoyment of the rights to justice; security of person; political rights, including the right to vote and to stand for election, to take part in government and public affairs, and to have equal access to public service; the right to freedom of movement and residence; the right to leave any country, including onešs own, and to return to onešs country; the right to nationality; the right to marriage and choice of spouse; the right to own property; the right to inherit; the right to freedom of thought, conscience and religion; the right to freedom of opinion and expression; the right to peaceful assembly and association; economic, social and cultural rights, in particular: the rights to work, to free choice of employment, to equal pay for equal work, to just and favourable remuneration; the right to form and join trade unions; the right to housing; the right to public health, medical care, social security and social services; the right to education and training; the right to equal participation in cultural activities; the right of access to any place or service intended for use by the general public.

Article 6

States Parties shall assure to everyone within their jurisdiction effective protection and remedies against acts of racial discrimination.

Article 7

States Parties undertake to adopt measures in education, teaching, etc. to combat prejudices which lead to racial discrimination.


For more information, please contact PDHRE:

The People's Movement for Human Rights Education (PDHRE) / NY Office
Shulamith Koenig / Executive Director
526 West 111th Street, New York, NY 10025, USA
tel: +1 212.749-3156; fax: +1 212.666-6325
e-mail: pdhre@igc.org